過去的事件

我們的活動集中在兩個核心方面–提高認識和為我們的事業籌款。
通過我們的意識活動,我們吸引了數百名本地和國際青年,使他們有機會學習更多有關視力和全球眼保健的知識。
通過我們的籌款活動,自成立以來,我們已籌集了4,000多美元,為個人提供了急需的白內障手術和戴眼鏡。在COVID-19大流行期間,我們通過籌款活動“ Social Distance WiF Us”為一線醫療專業人員提供了支持,我們也為此感到自豪。
向下滾動以了解有關我們活動的更多信息!
跳轉到意識活動
跳轉到籌款活動

意識事件

 

焦點競賽:2017-2020年

焦點世界每年都會推出“焦點比賽”(In Focus Contest):這是面向世界各地青年的藝術和寫作比賽。為了提高對視力和眼保健的認識,要求10-18歲的參與者使用以下三個提示之一作為其藝術創作的起點。自2017年舉辦了首屆In Focus競賽以來,WiF團隊已收到來自50多個不同國家的650餘件傑作。

參與會議:2019年3月23日

“聚焦世界”參加了由萬錦市市長青年理事會主辦的“參與會議”。我們與80多名小學生進行了交談,並與他們進行了有趣的互動活動。感謝您在MMYC的朋友們的加入!

ALPHA夏季宣傳運動:2017年8月8日

ALPHA Education非常熱情地邀請我們參加PULSE營地,向參加該營地的年輕人介紹“關注世界”。營員們了解了我們的事業,並被介紹給焦點競賽。

籌款活動

 

WiF我們的社交距離:2020年4月至6月

隨著COVID-19大流行的增長,加拿大對醫療設備的需求已經增加。今年,我們聯繫了多倫多的Unity Health,這是一個由安大略省三所醫院組成的網絡,處理大量COVID-19病例。通過我們的社交媒體以及GoFundMe頁面,我們超越了籌款目標1000美元。我們總共向多倫多團結健康勇氣基金捐贈了1,523美元!

感謝所有支持我們籌款活動的人,以及Instagram上的@ boju.designs和@ kohana.designs分別捐贈的350美元和80美元。

 

藝術之夜:2017-2019

每年,我們都會在12月舉辦一次半正式活動,其特色是來自GTA各地的年輕人的藝術表演。自2017年首次舉辦以來,``藝術之夜''已被證明是巨大的成功,每年吸引近100位參會者。門票銷售籌集的所有資金已用於資助發展中國家的兒童,以接受適當的眼保健。

奧林匹克糕點義賣:2016-2019

一年兩天,“聚焦世界”參觀了奧林匹克學校,我們在那裡出售各種美味佳餚!所有項目均由我們的執行團隊精心烘烤,所籌集的資金將用於資助最需要的人。憑藉我們社區的慷慨和慷慨,我們在2019年籌集了450美元!感謝奧林匹克學校對我們事業的持續支持。

逃離模糊:2019年4月20日

在我們的讚助商EscapeOK的幫助下,聚焦世界於2019年舉辦了我們的首個逃生室活動!該活動的收益用於支持喜馬拉雅白內障項目。

LOOK !: 2017-2018年

看!這是由WiF主辦的室內自帶毯子電影活動。參加者與他們的朋友一起度過了一個充滿樂趣的夜晚,其中包括食物和飲料以及他們選擇的電影!活動籌集的所有資金都用於為個人提供眼鏡和眼科檢查。

Past Events

Our events focus on two core aspects–to raise awareness and to fundraise for our cause.
Through our Awareness events, we have reached hundreds of youth both locally and internationally, giving them the opportunity to learn more about vision and global eye care.
 
 Through our Fundraiser events, we have raised over $4,000 since our founding, providing individuals with much-needed cataract surgeries and eye wear. We are also proud to have supported frontline medical professionals during the COVID-19 pandemic with our fundraiser event, Social Distance WiF Us.
Scroll down to learn more about our events!
Jump to Awareness Events
Jump to Fundraiser Events

AWARENESS EVENTS

 

In Focus Contest: 2017-2020

World in Focus kicks off each year by introducing the In Focus Contest: an art and writing contest for youth around the world. Dedicated to raising awareness on vision and eye care, participants aged 10-18 are asked to use one of three prompts given as a starting point for their artistic creations. Having held the first In Focus Contest in 2017, the WiF team has since received over 650 masterpieces from 50+ different countries.

Get Involved Conference: March 23, 2019

 

World in Focus took part in the Get Involved Conference hosted by the Markham Mayor's Youth Council. We spoke to over 80 elementary school students, and did a fun interactive activity with them. Thank you to our friends at MMYC for having us!

ALPHA Summer Awareness Campaign: August 8, 2017

 

ALPHA Education was kind enough to invite us to Camp PULSE to give a presentation about World in Focus to the youth attending the camp. The campers learned about our cause and were introduced to the In Focus Contest.

FUNDRAISER EVENTS

 

Social Distance WiF Us: April-June 2020

 

As the COVID-19 pandemic grows, the need for healthcare equipment in Canada has risen. This year, we reached out to Unity Health Toronto, a network of three hospitals in Ontario dealing with numerous COVID-19 cases. Through our social media as well as a GoFundMe page, we surpassed our fundraising goal of $1,000. In total, we donated $1,523 to the Courage Fund of Unity Health Toronto! 

Thank you to everyone who supported our fundraiser, and to @boju.designs and @kohana.designs on Instagram for their respective donations of $350 and $80.

 

Arts Night: 2017-2019

 

Every year, we host a semi-formal event in December featuring artistic performances by youth from across the GTA. Arts Night has proven to be a great success since it was first held in 2017, attracting nearly 100 attendees every year. All money raised from ticket sales have gone towards sponsoring children in developing countries to receive proper eye care.

Olympiads Bake Sale: 2016-2019

 

For two days a year, World in Focus visits the Olympiads School, where we sell a variety of delicious treats! All items are baked with care by our executive team, and the money raised goes towards sponsoring those who need it most. With the graciousness and generosity of our community, we raised $450 in 2019! Thank you to Olympiads School for your continuous support of our cause.

Escape the Blur: April 20, 2019

 

With the help of our sponsor, EscapeOK, World in Focus held our first escape room event in 2019!  The proceeds from the event went towards supporting the Himalayan Cataract Project.

LOOK!: 2017-2018

 

LOOK! was an indoor, bring-your-own-blanket movie event hosted by WiF. Participants enjoyed a fun-filled night with their friends, featuring food and drinks, and a movie chosen by them! All funds raised from the event went towards providing individuals with glasses and eye examinations.

WHO WE ARE

World in Focus (WiF) is a non-profit organization established in 2016 to combat the lack of optical care in the world. Our mission rests on two core aspects: to fundraise and to raise awareness. With an entire team of dedicated volunteers, we cannot wait to explore what's in store for us as we create change.

NAVIGATE

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR NEWSLETTER!

New to WiF this year! Get research articles, event sneak peeks, and more delivered to your inbox monthly.

© 2020 by World in Focus Canada